Music shop powered by

Field, Eileen: The Boosey & Hawkes Song Collection vol 2

$26.83 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060116247
ISMN: 9790060116247
Shop Product Code: 179279Q
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
ISBN: 9780851624723
The Boosey & Hawkes Song Collection vol 2

Status: Usually despatched within 5 working days

Editor: Field, Eileen

Instrumentation: Voice, Piano

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (London)

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Singing 2009-201745678
ABRSM Singing from 201845678

A superb collection of songs drawn from Boosey & Hawkes' unparalleled vocal catalogue, as well as previously unpublished & specially commissioned items. said of the first volume: "I hope that this book will become a firm favourite for many people, whether they are pupils or teachers, as it . . . will hopefully bring these unforgivably overlooked pieces to a fresh audience. More please!"

So here is more: a further collection of outstanding and varied twentieth century vocal music, the songs have been chosen to suit singers of all ages and experience. Performance notes are included.


Contents and Reviews

  • A young maid stood in her father's grave (arr. Hughes)
  • E'en as a lovely rose (Bridge)
  • I have twelve oxen ( Ireland)
  • If There are Angels (McDowall, Cecilia)
  • Infant joy (Clarke, Rebecca)
  • Lark in the clear air (Rose, Michael)
  • Linden Lea (Vaughan Williams)
  • Little Horses (arr. Copland)
  • Long time ago (arr. Copland)
  • Mamble (Head)
  • O mistress mine (Quilter)
  • O your eyes are dark and beautiful (Seiber)
  • See, see mine own sweet jewel (Rose, Michael)
  • She moved thro' the fair (arr Hughes)
  • Sky above the roof (Vaughan Williams)
  • Spell of Creation (Field, Christopher)
  • Spring sorrow (Ireland)
  • icon-info-blueSweet Suffolk owl (Poston, Elizabeth)
  • The apron of flowers (Ferguson, Howard)
  • The Birds (Britten)
  • The ships of Arcady (Head)
  • The swing (Lehmann, Liza)
  • The widow bird (Howells)
  • There Was a Naughty Boy (Ayres, Paul)
  • Trade Winds (Keel)
  • Two Songs: In praise of Ale (Dray, Robert)
  • Two Songs: Little Elegy (Rorem, Ned)
  • Two Songs: On a singing girl (Rorem, Ned)
  • Two Songs: The Virgin's cradle song (Dray, Robert)

Curiously starting with a song copyrighted in 1900 and more understandably ending with several copyrighted in 2005, the Boosey & Hawkes Song Collection Volume 2 1901 -- 2004 is full of good things, some not easily available elsewhere. Vaughan William’s take on Verlaine, Keel’s superlative Trade Winds, Britten’s The Birds, Howells’s The Widow Bird, Poston’s Sweet Suffolk Owl and two good Irelands make it worth getting. . . . The American selection from Copland and Rorem is pretty good. There are some excellent arrangements of folksongs, in particular two by Herbert Hughes.

(Sheet Music Review)


You May Be Interested In