Music shop powered by

Reicha, Anton: Fugue No. 1 from 36 Fugues, Op. 36 for piano

Special Offer  

RRP: $6.96 *
Now: $5.92 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: H8029
ISMN: 9790260106987
Shop Product Code: 282598C
Fugue No. 1 from 36 Fugues, Op. 36 for piano

Status: Usually shipped within 24 - 48 hours

Department: Piano - Piano repertoire (other publishers)

Instrumentation: Piano

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Piano 2017 & 20188

Perfect Pairing

Fugue No. 1 from 36 Fugues for Piano

The Czech composer Antonin Rejcha (also Anton Reicha, 1770–1836) was famous as both an experimental composer and as a teacher and theorist. His “36 Fugues for Piano” testify to this experimentalism; they can be seen as a type of “Well-Tempered Piano of the new ages”, basing the traditional Baroque fugue on radical new fundaments.

The first edition of this unusual collection was produced in 1803 in Vienna by Reicha’s own publishing company “Au Magasin de l’Imprimerie chimique”. It included both a dedication poem to Joseph Haydn and a comprehensive foreword in which Reicha identifies the characteristics of his compositional style. The second edition (Vienna 1805) included a short theoretical text “Über das neue Fugensystem” (“On the new fugal system”) in the form of a polemic, reacting to his critics, one of whom was Beethoven. Six fugues are based on the themes of other composers (Haydn, Bach, Mozart, Scarlatti, Frescobaldi, Handel).

The musical text is a corrected reprint of the edition by Václav Jan Sýkora from 1973, which itself was based on the referred to edition from 1805 as well as on the later edition by Tobias Haslinger (Vienna, c. 1828).

- Works historically important to the development of the fugue
- New foreword by Roman Dykast (Cz/Eng/Ger)

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!