Music shop powered by
Special Offer  

RRP: $23.11 *
Now: $19.64 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: BA11512
ISMN: 9790260107618
Shop Product Code: 2791957
Works for Violin and Piano

Status: Usually shipped within 5 working days

Editor: Krejcí, Iša / Nemcová, Alena

Series: Barenreiter Urtext Edition

Department: Violin - Violin repertoire (other publishers)

Instrumentation: Violin, Piano

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Violin 2016–20198
This edition contains all of Janácek’s works for violin and piano:
the Sonata as well as the “Romance and Dumka”, composed while he was still a student.

Though probably written as early as 1914, Janácek’s Sonata for Violin and Piano was revised several times before finally appearing in a definitive version in 1922.
This new edition of the Sonata and the “Romance” is based on the “Complete Critical Edition of the Works of Leoš Janácek”(Vol. E/1) with a clearer notation to optimise readability. For the Dumka the editor has drawn on the sole autograph source, the violin part (still considered lost when the above mentioned Complete Edition volume was published), and the revised version contained therein.
Unlike the first edition, it also contains Janácek’s detailed dynamic markings.

• Newly engraved edition with notation adapted to conform with modern usage
• Revised version of Dumka with original dynamic markings
• Foreword by leading Janácek scholar Alena Nemcová (Cz/Eng/Ger)

Contents and Reviews


Predmluva Preface Vorwort • Romance / Romanze • Dumka • Sonáta / Sonata / Sonate: I. Con moto II. Balada / Ballad / Ballade III. Allegretto IV. Adagio Appendix: Allegro