Music shop powered by

Brahms, Johannes: Sonatas Op. 120 for Clarinet and Piano

$26.03 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HN987
ISMN: 9790201809878
Shop Product Code: 2654582
Sonatas Op. 120 for Clarinet and Piano

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Subtitle: Urtext Edition - revised edition

Editor: Behr, Johannes & Voss, Egon

Department: Clarinet - Clarinet repertoire (other publishers)

Instrumentation: Clarinet in Bb, Piano

Publisher: Henle

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Clarinet 2014–201758 
ABRSM Clarinet 2018–2021578
In 1894 Johannes Brahms asked the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld to visit him during his beloved summer sojourn in Ischl, adding “It would be really wonderful if you brought your B-flat clarinet with you, and if you were in no great hurry” – for the two Sonatas op. 120 were waiting to be rehearsed. The first performances were given privately directly afterwards and the press enthusiastically reported: “The sonatas [...] are wonderful and will cause a great sensation”.
Henle's edition of this work, today part of the clarinettist’s core repertoire, continues the revision of Brahms’s Duo Sonatas following the text in the new Brahms Complete Edition.

Contents and Reviews


Clarinet Sonata in F minor op. 120/1 Clarinet Sonata in E-flat major op. 120/2